SICCI announces new board members


THE Solomon Islands Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SICCI) announced its 2018—2019 Vice Chair and six members on Wednesday March 28.

They were elected during the SICCI’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at the Heritage Park Hotel which convened members of the government and private sectors.

The SICCI’s new Board Members comprised of diverse business professionals who understand the needs of its membership and possess energy and commitment to lead the Chamber.

Each new board member will serve a one-year term.

On Wednesday’s AGM, there was no election for chair because Mr Jay Bartlett, Director of Hatanga Limited stood unopposed as Chairperson of SICCI.

Bartlett has been with SICCI since 2015, and is described as a young visionary leader who has been an effective advocator and voice for private sector ever since taking responsibility as SICCI’s Chairperson.

Bartlett said he looks forward to working with all new elected members on board level.

“One of our aims this year was to update the SICCI constitution, this has not been done on time, so it will be something for the new board to address and take forward as a matter of priority,” Bartlett said.

“This is made possible through the guidance and dedication of new elected board members.”

These are SICCI’s new elected Board Members for 2018-2019.

Vice Chairperson is Mr David Rupokets—A current SICCI Treasurer and Co-opt Board Member. He is the Managing Director and Principal owner of Capitol Construction Pty Limited since 2016.


Ms Belinda Botha—she is an owner operator of Dive Munda, a multi-award-wining SSI Instructor Training Centre business in the Western province.

Ms Lyn Fa’arodo—Managing Electronic Channels for Bank South Pacific (BSP) Solomon Islands since 2017.

Mr Craig Gibson—Current SICCI Board member elected at the 2017 AGM after taking role of General Manager of GPPOL early on the same year. GPPOL is currently a 2018 Gold Sponsor member and part of SICCI for many years now.

Mr Sohaib Mahmood—Country Head of ANZ Solomon Islands who currently 2018 platinum sponsor member of SICCI.

Sir Bruce Saunders—is a current SICCI Board Member and long-time member of the Chamber.

Mr Frank Wichham—current SICCI Board Member and was chair of the previous Board’s internal sub-committee. He re-elected to join SICCI for 2018-2019.

The Solomon Islands Chamber of Comomerce and Industry this week welcomes its new excecutvie line-up. (Pictured) Back row (L-R) Charles Pearsson (Advisor to CEO), Craig Gibsone, Belindah Botha, Sir Bruce Sanders, Sohaibi Mahmood..Front (L-R) Lyn Fa’arodo, Jay Bartlett (President), David Rupokets, Dennis Meone (CEO). See story on page 8. Photo by Lynton Aaron Filia

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading