PM points to ACB as reason for walkout  



PRIME Minister Manasseh Sogavare has stated that some of the nine Ministers who resigned from his government were responsible for undermining the progress of the Anti-Corruption Bill (ACB).

In a statement yesterday, the Prime Minister’s Office said the reasons reported in the media on the weekend were an attempt to disguise the underlying reasons for the move; the Anti-Corruption Bill.

Seven of the Ministers resigned on late Friday evening and two more resigned yesterday afternoon as confirmed by the Government House Deputy Private Secretary to the Governor General, Rawcliffe Ziza.

They are;

  • Danny Philip, Minister for National Planning and Aid Coordination and member of United Democratic Party (UDP).
  • Snyder Rini, Minister for Fisheries and Marine Resources and Member of UDP.
  • Chris Laore, Minister of Forestry and Research and member of Peoples Alliance Party.
  • Moses Garu, Minister of Police, National Security and Correctional Services and member of Kadere party
  • Moffat Fugui, Minister of Public Service and member of UDP.
  • Elijah Doromuala, Minister of  Justice and Legal Affairs and member of Peoples Alliance Party.

Two other Ministers that resigned yesterday are the Minister of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening David Tome – member of Peoples Alliance Party and Minister of National Unity, Reconciliation and Peace – Samson Maneka who is a member of UDP.

Sources said that more Government MPs including backbenchers are likely to resign from the government and a Motion of No Confidence is expected this week.

 “Some of these resignations come as no surprise based on the fact that some of these same Ministers were responsible for undermining the progress of the ACB and the Opposition and Independent Parliamentary Groups have inadvertently aligned themselves with this agenda,” Prime Minister Sogavare said in the statement.

The statement also added that the ACB has been tabled in Parliament and is scheduled for Parliament this week.

It says the government remains intact despite the nine resignations and that Prime Minister Sogavare is confident and assures the Nation that the DCCG will deliver on its promise.

“The DCC Government will not allow petty politics to hinder the delivery of the Anti-Corruption Bill. This is what the people want and DCCG will deliver the Anti-Corruption Bill.” Hon. Sogavare MP further stated.

The political drama come on the eve of the visit of Taiwanese president Dr Tsai Ing-wen, who is due in Honiara on Wednesday.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading