PM issues ban on covid- delta affected countries


Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare has issued an order banning persons from countries affected by covid-19 delta variant from entering the country.

This was confirmed by the Attorney-General John Muria Junior in a recent radio talkback show on the SIBC.

“An Order has been made by the PM to prohibit entry for persons coming from country having delta variant of COVID-19,” Muria Jnr said.

He said this order has resulted in incoming flights from country recording cases of new variant being stopped from entering the country.

Muria Jnr said this is done for reasons. One of the key reasons is health officials in the country need to understand the new variant so they can be well prepared.

He also said authorities dealing with COVID-19 in the country need to learn from the stories and experiences from countries that have the delta variant.

“We have in place flight restrictions because our two gateway countries Australia and Fiji have recorded cases of delta variant. This is why we have flight restrictions currently in place,” Muria Jnr said.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading