Parliament welcomes new MP

By Gary Hatigeva

New Member of Parliament for Gizo-Kolombangara Lanelle Tanaganda taking her oath of allegiance in Parliament on Wednesday

PARLIAMENT on Wednesday welcomed its newest member to the house, Lanelle Tanaganda after her election victory in the Gizo-Kolombangara by-election, May this year.

Before being welcomed by both members of the two sides of the house, Mrs. Tanaganda took her oath of allegiance before a packed parliament chamber.

In welcoming the Gizo-Kolombangara Member of Parliament, Speaker of National Parliament, Ajilon Jasper Nasiu explained that it was important the new MP took her oath to fulfil and important part or requirement under the national constitution.

“Honourable Members, we have with us today a new member who is elected through a by-election in May this year.

“But according to section 63 of the constitution, no member is permitted to participate in the proceedings of this house until he or she has taken the oath set out in schedule one of the constitution.

“On behalf of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands, I welcome you as the newly elected Member of Parliament for Gizo-Kolombangara constituency,” the Speaker expressed when welcoming Mrs. Tanaganda.

The Speaker however reminded that having taken her oath, the new MP is now permitted to participate in the proceedings of this honourable house.

“I can only wish you well as you take up your duties to this house and your constituency,” the Speaker further added.

Following her election as the new MP, Mrs. Tanaganda joined the government side.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading