NSW MPs here for launching of the ‘twinning bilong yumi’ scholarship

Advertise with Islandsun

A delegation of members of the NSW Parliament, led by the President, the Hon John Ajaka will be in the country today until Friday to launch an inaugural scholarship programme designed to enhance the professional development of staff of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands.

The visit by the NSW Parliament delegation will provide the president with the opportunity to reaffirm the NSW Parliament’s commitment to the twinning partnership with the National Parliament of Solomon Islands.

Tomorrow, the launching proper will convene at the Paul Tovua Complex together with the presentation of Annotated Standing Orders.

After the launch of Twinning Bilong Umi Scholarship programme, the NSW delegates will have a briefing with the Australian High Commissioner and the Minister for Development Planning and Aid Coordination, Hon Jeremiah Manele at his Office.

Four of the NSW members will also attend side meetings separately with selected government ministers as well as leaders of certain local organisations and churches.

These include meetings with the Young Women Parliamentary Group (YWPG), the Chairman of Solomon Islands Christian Association (SICA), Women in IT Solomon Islands and Minister of the Ministry of Public Service and the Ministry of Environment, Disaster Management, Climate Change and Meteorology.

The delegation’s meeting with the Ombudsman and Leadership Code Commission and the Royal Solomon Islands Police Force will take place on Thursday, before heading for a constituency visit in West Guadalcanal.

The constituency visit is hosted by the Honourable Member for West Guadalcanal Constituency Hon Moses Garu, who is also the Minister of Police, National Security and Correctional Services.

On Friday the NSW delegation will also be having meetings with the Leader of Opposition Hon Manasseh Maelanga, the Leader of Independent Group Hon Dr Derek Sikua and chairpersons of the Parliamentary Standing Committees.

They will finally wrap up their meetings with the National Parliament Management Group to further discuss support from twinning arrangement before departing for Brisbane on Friday afternoon.

The New South Wales visiting delegation are;

  1. The President, the Hon John Ajaka, President of the Legislative Council
  2. The Hon Catherine Cusack, MLC, Parliamentary Secretary for Digital Inclusion
  3. The Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC, Opposition Whip
  4. The Hon Jonathan O’Dea; MLA, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier and Treasurer
  5. The Hon Paul Green; MLC, Temporary Chair of Committees
  6. Ms Beverly Duffy; Clerk Assistant (Procedure) and delegation secretary
  7. Mr Tom Anderson; member of President’s staff

Speaker of Parliament, Mr Ajilon Jasper Nasiu will also be making remarks at the launching.