Avaiki-Hammerheads stay undefeated

By Taromane Martin

Avaiki’s Moses Singamoana on the break away

LEAGUE leaders Avaiki rugby club and table runner ups Henderson Hammerhead Sharks remains undefeated after securing their fifth win in the 2018 Honiara Rugby Union Association (HRUA) 15s competition over the weekend.

Hammerheads destroyed Diesel Service 41-0, a team compromising mostly of forwards players in the first game on Saturday at the Panatina Rugby Oval.

Diesel forward pack had the competition but it was their back line which left them in struggling allowing Hammerheads back halves, notably Sanga Sade amongst the try scorers for Sharks.

League leaders Avaiki also had an easy run on Saturday defeating Islanders 43-7 in the second match of the day.

Avaiki lead 12-0 at the break but saw Islanders claiming a penalty try 15 minutes into the second half, match referee Ryan Wickham awarding it for a late high tackle shot.

Jonathan Maitaki extended Avaiki’s lead after a nice one two play with Eddie Sanga, Islanders struggling to find composure in defence due to the lack of substitute players for them.

Avaiki leading try scorer in the tournament Moses Singamoana managed three tries in the second half while Bruce Baiabe sealed off the win with a late converted try to claim their club’s fifth win in the competition.

Sixth place TIA Warriors also had a successful run on Saturday defeating a development Realas side. Realas looked good in the opening minutes of the game but lacked enough experience as they suffered their fourth straight loss in the competition.

Meanwhile matches for the HRUA rugby 15s competition will continue this afternoon at the Panatina Rugby Oval.

This match is schedule for 3pm today as Matangiki takes on the Malaita Outer Islands (MOI) Warriors who are sitting second to the last on the competition table with a point to their name.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading