Under-16 training squad named


THE Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) Technical Department has released its 35-member training squad for the national under-16 yesterday.

The squad was selected from the recent Youth Solomon Cup Under-16 competition held in Honiara earlier this month.

This is to prepare for this year’s Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Under-16 Championship.

Honiara will play host to the regional junior qualifiers from September 8 to 22 with all matches likely to be played at Lawson Tama Stadium.

The Western Tomoko Under-16 winning side dominates the pick with a total of eight players selected for the training squad followed by Malaita and Honiara with seven players each.

Guadalcanal has four of its players selected, Central (three players) while Rennell and Bellona has two players selected.

Local Honiara club Marist will also have its representation in the national training squad with three players.

The former national senior men’s assistant coach Stanley Waita has been appointed to take charge of the head coaching role for the national under-16 side.

The former national center midfielder will be assisted by Henry Fa’arodo Junior as the assistant coach.

According to the team management, training will start earlier March.

“This list is not final, it is a training list. And it is also an open list – we can still add and remove players as soon as we start training.

“Training will start around early March 2018. We will be in touch with the coaches and parents of the players selected and make arrangements for each player especially the ones in the provinces.

“To the players’ coaches and parents, please contact the federation’s technical department on 26496 to confirm availability or if there are any concerns regarding your child.

“The earlier we sort things out the better it is. So your assistance is very much important too,” a statement from the SIFF technical department said yesterday.

See below members of the training squad.


Felix Advent (Central), Lloyd Kari (Malaita) and Edilson Lamupio (Western)


Edward Aulanga (Honiara), Sanau Hou (Honiara), John Misi (Malaita), Benedict Ferani (Malaita), Patson Tongaka (Renbel), Fresha Sofu (Renbel), Fabio Pao (Western), Benbate Lamupio (Western), Chackie Dadson (Western) and Ronado Cromwell (Marist).


Roljar Damme (Central), Philip Ropa (Guadalcanal), Jones Manearoa (Guadalcanal), Francis Sade (Guadalcanal), Roque Junior (Honiara), Watson Kiko (Honiara), Stephen Koti (Malaita), Julius Kera (Western), Mattson Hoto (Western), Xavier Omearo (Marist) and Kelvin Mekawir (Honiara)


Luke Tena (Central), Gregory Langilana (Honiara), Junior Lea’alafa (Honiara), Jack Baera (Malaita), Floyd Hagi (Malaita), Joshua Baela (Malaita), Hamilton Pao (Western), Clenty Lamupio (Western) and Raphael Le’ai (Marist).

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading