Voters arrive for Gizo/Kolo by-election




Former Prime Minister Gordon Darcy Lilo Supporters and Voters upon their arrival onboard MV Fair Lady and MV Fair Chief at the Gizo wharf on Monday.

HUNDREDS of voters have arrived in Gizo for the Gizo/Kolombangara by-election.

On Wednesday 23rd May, polling stations will open at 7am and close at 5pm.

In an interview with Mr Christian Siale, the Western Province Registration Manager yesterday, he said voters are being urged to get to the polling station within this time.

He said the 12 polling stations are Saeragi, Bibolo, Titiana, Gizo A and Gizo B, Logha Island, Vanga, Poetete, Jack Harbor, Ringi, Hunda and Kukudu.

“Once the polling stations are closed the sealed ballot boxes will be sent to the Gizo election commission office.

“Since there were no to count the ballot boxes, the ballot boxes should be count early on Thursday morning.

“The results are expected to be announced after counting on Thursday.”

Siale calls on the Gizo/ Kolombangara constituents to be calm and vote peacefully to elect the leader who will represent them in parliament.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading