Advertise with Islandsun

Criteria’s must be met

By Taromane Martin

Only ten teams will take part in the new seasons of the Telekom Soccer League (TSL) competition when it kicks off later in the year.

The current 2020-2021 TSL seasons is schedule to complete on March 21st. The Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) and the TSL board say all current participating TSL clubs will also have to reapply for the 2021-2022 seasons.

“The Telekom S-League board has passed a resolution to have ten (10) teams in the new season this year and applications for club licensing is open for current and interested clubs,” SIFF media officer Simon Abana stated yesterday.

“This is a move to improve the competition and meet FIFA requirement for member associations to have at least 10 teams in their premier club competition.

“Teams need to meet certain requirements set by the TSL board and SIFF before a club license is granted.

“A team that wishes to compete in the TSL must have an Executive board, constitution, club management, bank account and training ground,” the statement said.

“Other important requirements are all TSL clubs must have a youth U-19 team to play in the new U-19 S-League and a major sponsor.

“The board after consultation with SIFF Technical department has set a requirement of OFC C-License, SIFF MA Senior Coaching Certificate or equivalent for TSL coaches.

“All current eleven clubs this season will have to apply since all their licenses will expire at the end of the season.

“Successful ten clubs will pay SBD$25,000 as registration fee for the top tier and $5000 for the U19 S-League.

“Closing date for the club licensing application for new TSL seasons is Wednesday 31st March 2021 end of business,” it adds.

Henderson Eels FC meanwhile is on course to win their first TSL title under Head Coach Eddie Marahare.

Eels play Southern United FC this Wednesday at the Lawson Tama Stadium while defending Champions Solomon Warriors FC plays Honiara City FC for this season’s title deciding match.