Solomon Water appoints board members

SOLOMON Water celebrates the appointment of three new Board members, restoring the board to full strength after a long wait.

The new Board members, who will serve for a period of three years effective from March 12, 2018, are Mr Donald Marahare, Ms Cynthia Wickham and Mr John Belande, who bring with them a mixture of legal, business and engineering knowledge.

Board chairman Phil Bradford said “We are thrilled to have some new and younger board members join Solomon Water at this time of exciting growth and implementation of our 30 year Strategic Plan.”

Their appointments fill positions that have been vacant for some time, and Mr Bradford would like to thank current Prime Minister, Mr Rick Houenipwela and accountable ministers Sogavare and Tovosia of the Government for dealing with the appointments promptly since taking office.

Solomon Water also farewells long serving Board Member, Mr David Laurie this month.

Mr Laurie joined the Board in the late 2000s and has been with Solomon Water through a period of significant change.

Mr Bradford, on behalf of the board and management of Solomon Water would like to thank Laurie for the invaluable contribution he has made to improve the business operations of Solomon Water and would like to wish him all the best for his future endeavours.

Laurie provided a wealth of knowledge to the board, as well as providing good governance rigour in all their activities.

He first came to the Solomons in the 1980s with SIEA and later returned on a part time basis as an SIEA board member appointed by the World Bank.


Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading