Renbel upset Honiara


RENNELL and Bellona Chiefs caused an upset on day one of the 2018 Youth Solomon Cup Under-19 category as they cruised to a 2-1 win over Honiara Warriors in the third match yesterday at Lawson Tama Stadium.

Rennell and Bellona’s victory will go down as their first ever win over Honiara in any football competition held at the competitive level.

The win also enabled them to go third place on the table with three points behind leader Malaita Eagles and Western Turtles respectively.

Eagles and Turtles are on three points as well but their advantage in the goal differences propelled them to top.

During yesterday’s match, Honiara Warrriors got in front in the opening minutes leading 1-0 through a goal by Ali Mekawir.

However, Chiefs quickly responded with an equalizer a minute later through Steve Mane before another goal which would later turn out the actual winner came from Leon Na’amoana within the first 15 minutes.

Chiefs held on to the 2-1 scoreline until the final whistle to register vital maximum competition points.

Chiefs head coach Greezer Pongi was overwhelmed with the win.

“My boys stick to our game plan with a lot of composure in the first half and that’s when we got the two goals.

“Honiara scored first but we quickly responded with the equalizer and minutes later we came away with the winner.

“I’m really pleased with my boys’ performance today.

“Honiara is a tough team and one of the favourites in the competition.

“After we led in the first half, I told my boys to play defensive in the second half and we held on to win,” Pongi said.

Renbel Chiefs attacking midfielder Leon Na’amoana tries to evade a tackle
from the Honiara Warriors defender yesterday. Renbel won 2-1. PICTURE:

Chiefs’ second match is against Western Turtles starting at 1pm this afternoon while Honiara will take on Guadalcanal Hornets at 2.30pm.

Renbel Chiefs:

Darwin Aomatangi, Casper Mamae, Casper Junior, Warren Moana, Danstan Meke, Colton Lui, Jerry Maitaki, Steve Mane, Stevenson Junior, Leon Na’amoana and Robert Mamata. SUBS: Wanders Puia, Baggio Tuimaka, Hatiah Taika, Patrick Tengemoana, Steve Makos, Steve Pai, Clive Pongi and Moses Suamoana

Honiara Warriors:

John Mata Junior, George Warren, Junior Aengari, Stanley Sua, Standford Clement, Clinton Otoi, Clayton Menapa, Don Keana, Osifelo Vincent, Junior Bako and Ali Mekawir. SUBS: Ashley Buto, Ian Tutu, Hubert Au, Junior Kaoni, Raymond Taloi, Zeipitu Vavira and Junior Maelasi.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading