Counting continues in Western elections


ELECTIONS in Western Province has ushered in new members into the Provincial Assembly with wealth of experiences in the government system.

Jeffrey Wickham, Gideon Tuke and Edward Ngava are familiar names within the public service and state institutions.

Wickham is a long-serving public servant who has worked as a Permanent Secretary in government ministries, including the Ministry of Communication and Aviation.

He was also Secretary to the Prime Minister at one stage before taking up the role as the Provincial Secretary of Western Province – the job he held until his retirement this year.

Ngava was once an active member of the Solomon Islands Football Federation before becoming a councillor at the Honiara City Council.

He is also a person with huge experience in politics and governance.

Tuke was a senior administration officer of Western Province and the province`s operation will not new to him.

These new MPAs were the first to be announced after counting yesterday.

Results obtained by Island Sun before the counting was suspended are as follows:

  • Jeffrey Wickham – ward 16
  • Edward Ngava – ward 21
  • Gideon Tuke – ward 3
  • Kenneth George – Ward 14
  • Gordon Zebo – ward 19.

Island Sun could not get the results for ward 15, ward 18, and ward 1 yesterday but will keep our readers updated on the counting today December 16 stories.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading