Gaobata elects new youth body

Ghaobata Youth Association members with provincial member John Lee Saki, sitting left.
Advertise with Islandsun

THE Ghaobata youth representatives in northeast Guadalcanal selected their Ward Youth Association Executive Board on Sunday.

This was confirmed by the President of Guadalcanal Provincial Youth Council (GPYC), Danny Rasile.

He said the event was attended by the MPA for Ghaobata Ward, John Lee Saki, his WDC chairman, two other WDC members, church leaders, chiefs and other community leaders.

Rasile thanked Saki for his support in helping to establish the youth association in his ward.

“I want to personally thank Saki for taking the lead initiative to establish the Gaobata Ward Youth Association,” he stated.

“Saki sees our need and steps in to salvage the moment. His efforts with the Ghaobata WDC’s help, has result in what we’ve seen today,” Rasile added.

He also expressed that he hopes other Guadalcanal MPAs would do the same in the wards.

“We hope other MPAs will follow suit to organize and facilitate the formation of youths in their wards.”

Rasile said only three wards in Guadalcanal have since established their youth associations. These are Avuavu, Tandai and Ghaobata.

The other 18 wards are yet to come up with their youth representatives before establishing their youth associations.

Rasile stated that Savulei Ward is expected to have their youth association established by the end of this month.

In addition, the president also lamented that despite the fact that Guadalcanal youths make up about 80% of the province’s population, they are rarely included in the provincial government budget until this year where about $280,000 was allocated for the 2021-2022 financial year.

Rasile said so far these three wards were established without any support from the financial budget.

Despite the self-sufficient mindset, Rasile expressed that they can’t continue to be ignored.

The Ghaobata Ward Youth Association Board Members are:

1: Jane Saronga – Chairlady

2: Dickson Maeke – Vice Chaiman

3: Cathy Roxy – Treasurer

4: Graeme J Tolugu – Secretary

5: Joseph Pei

6: John Rocky

7: Francis Garimane

8: Ben Turasi