The Democratic Coalition for Change Government continues to maintain its solidarity which was demonstrated by 25 MP’s voting in support of Hon. David Dei Pacha, MP as the newly elected Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

David Dei Pacha is unopposedly the new Deputy Speaker of Parliament after Hon. Steve Abana, MP from the Government Opposition group withdrew his nomination on the floor of Parliament.

The 25 Ministers who were present today in Parliament were;

  1. Prime Minister – Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, MP;
  2. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs – Hon. Manasseh Maelanga, MP;
  3. Minister for Education and Human Resources Development – Hon. John Dean Kuku, MP;
  4. Minister for Finance and Treasury – Hon. Snyder Rini, MP;
  5. Minister for Agriculture and Livestock – Hon. Dudley Kopu, MP;
  6. Minister for Rural Development – Hon. Jimson Tanangada, MP;
  7. Minister for Women, Youth and Children Affairs- Hon. Freda Tuki Soriacomua, MP;
  8. Minister for Development and Aid Coordination – Hon. Danny Philip, MP;
  9. Minister for National Unity, Reconciliation and Peace – Hon. Samson Maneka, MP;
  10. Minister for Health and Medical Services – Hon. Dr Kaituu Tautai Angikimua, MP;
  11. Minister for Infrastructure Development – Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu, MP;
  12. Minister for Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration – Hon. William Marau, MP;
  13. Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade – Hon. Milner Tozaka, MP;
  14. Minister for Forestry and Research- Hon. Christopher Laore, MP;
  15. Minister for Police & Correctional Services- Hon. Moses Garu, MP;
  16. Minister for Fisheries & Marine Resources- Hon. John Maneniaru, MP;
  17. Deputy Speaker National Parliament – Hon. David Dei Pacha, MP;
  18. Chairman of Government Caucus – Hon. Jackson Fiulaua, MP;
  19. Chairman Foreign Relations Committee – Hon. Silas Vaqara Tausinga, MP;
  20. Chairman Education Committee- Hon. Nestor Ghiro, MP;
  21. Chairman Health & Education Committee- Hon. Charles Sigoto
  22. Chairman of Public Expenditure Committee – Hon. Ishmael Avui, MP;
  23. Chairman of Cabinet sub –Committee – RIPEL, Hon. Dickson Mua, MP;
  24. Chairman of Cabinet Sub-Committee – KFPL – Hon. Augustine Auga, MP;
  25. Member of Parliament for Temotu Nende – Hon. Commins Aston Mewa, MP (Backbencher)

Not to mention, Ministers and Backbenchers who were absent due to other commitments but have conveyed their support for the leadership of the Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, MP.

The DCCG continues to maintain the numerical strength with support of its MPs who are committed to ensure key policies of the government are delivered in a timely manner. Unsubstantiated claims and accusations to justify a political agenda that is not in the national interest will only serve to create instability and undermine progress.

In relation to recent speculations, the media is again reminded to be responsible in their reporting.

Parliament was then adjourned today until 28th August, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Manasseh Sogavare, MP requested a special adjournment of Parliament sitting to 28th August, 2017 to give ample time for members of the Parliamentary Public Accounts Committee to deliberate on the 2017 Supplementary Appropriation Bill.

The Prime Minister further added that the Government will also be heavily involved in the visit to Solomon Islands by the President of the Asian Development Bank, Mr Takehiko Nakao.

The visit will coincide with opening of the Mbalasuna Bridge on North-East-Guadalcanal and a visit to Oil Palm Plantations at the Guadalcanal Plains also on North-East-Guadalcanal and the ground-breaking ceremony of the University of South Pacific Solomon Islands Campus at King George the Sixth School Grounds in East Honiara.

Mr Nakao and his ADB delegation arrive in Honiara today.

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading