DCC up to 30

DCC IS BACK... A group photo of the DCC members last night at the Cabinet Room in the Prime Minister’s Office. DCC regained numbers last night and now boasts a total of 30 members with Rick Hou being their candidate for the Prime Minister’s post. -- PICTURE SUPPLIED
Advertise with Islandsun


THE Democratic Coalition for Change (DCC) group is fighting back, last night successfully pulling seven members from the opposition group, including the leader himself Hon Jeremiah Manele.

The members of parliament (MPs) who have crossed over to the DCC are: Hon Rick Hou, Derrick Manuari, Steve Abana, Peter Tom, Culwick Togamana, Jeremiah Manele and Connelly Sandakabatu.

This brings DCC’s number to 30 MPs.

It is disclosed that Rick Hou comes in as the contender for the prime minister post. Other portfolio allocations will be made later this morning

Speaking to Island Sun last night from the Cabinet office, Hon Dickson Mua, Member of Parliament for Savo-Russells, said the leaders have defected because “they want stability and continuity. They see a new government as a waste of time due to time limitation”.

The seven defectors met with members of the DCC at the Cabinet room in the Prime Minister’s office last night.

Missing from the meeting last night was Member of Parliament for Fataleka, Hon Steve Abana.