SI Red Cross elects new board members

Red Cross Secretary General and Board Members. In the back row, new Board Members include Dr.Paul Popora Bosawai (2nd from left), Richard Sesebo (3rd from left) and John Sumana (2nd from right). In front row, Georgina Kekea is first on the left
Advertise with Islandsun

THE Solomon Islands Red Cross Society has elected new members to its national board following a board meeting held recently.

The newly co-opted members into the National Society’s Board include Dr Paul Popora Bosawai and a government representative, who’s co-option awaits confirmation from his line ministry.

The other members of the Board who have also been appointed into the National Society Board include Georgina Kekea, Richard Sesebo and John Sumana. 

Speaking in relation to the co-option and appointments made, the Solomon Islands Red Cross Society Secretary General, Clement Manuri mentioned that the National Society is proud to have these skilled and qualified people who will contribute in moving the National Society forward.

“The National Society is very pleased to be able to have these very skilled and passionate people who are willing to be part of its National Board. This is the first time we are also able to have more females in our Board and I hope this will certainly continue”, Mr Manuri said.

The Secretary General also thanked the members for their heart in choosing to volunteer to serve the National Society and its work in the country through their participation in the Board.

“I am particularly grateful with the new members especially for their heart in choosing to volunteer to be part of the Board. This is a great show of the spirit of humanity and the passion to serve voluntarily”, he further added.

Meanwhile, one of the new members who was also the new treasurer, Richard Sesebo, mentioned the reason for joining the Board.

 “One of the reasons to join the Red Cross Board is to learn about who the Red Cross is and what it does.

 The intention to learn more about the National Society is what drives me to have a strong heart to join the Board. Likewise, I know that by doing this, I am also giving my time to volunteer to serve our most vulnerable people in the country”, Mr Sesebo said.

The newly appointed members will serve in the Board until the next General Assembly, which is usually held after every two years. The next General Assembly will be held in around the middle of 2022.