Home Local News Honiara Soccer named squad for mini games

Soccer named squad for mini games

Kennedy Watemae, right, evades a tackle from Henderson Eels’ midfielder David Muta while James Naka runs, left, runs in to support.
Spread the love

By Taromane Martin

A 21 man squad for the upcoming South Pacific Mini-Games was released yesterday by the Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF).

Named in the 21 man squad are veterans Henry Fa’arodo, Clifton Aumae, James Naka and Benjamin Totori who are joined by a bunch of young talented players like Kennedy Watemae and John Aeta.

SIFF Technical Director and Head Coach Spaniard Felipe Vega Arongo said the mini-games will be the last chance for gaining players to win international silverware for the country.

“I’m going to give at least another chance for few experience players in the national team for the mini games in Vanuatu.

“We have talked about this and those players are happy to represent their country one last time. It would be nice for them to finish their career winning a medal for the country,” Arongo said.

“Naka at the moment is the best striker in the country and he is getting back in shape. He is taking things more seriously but most likely it is going to be his last international tournament for him.

“Totori, he has to come because he does not have much competition to go,” the Spaniard said.

Meanwhile the 21 man squad to represent the country in football at the Mini-Games in December are as follows:

National team named for mini games

  1. Anthony Talo
  2. Philip Mango
  3. Desmond Tutu
  4. Richard Hiromana
  5. Hadis Aegari
  6. Robert Laua
  7. Fred Kini
  8. John Aeta
  9. Michael Boso
  10. Henry Faarodo
  11. Clifton Aumae
  12. Atkin Kaua
  13. Thomas Amasia
  14. Tigi Molea
  15. Boni Pride
  16. Tutuzama Tanito
  17. Gagame Feni
  18. Jerry Donga
  19. Benjiman Totori
  20. James Naka
  21. Kennedy Watemae

Spread the love

Exit mobile version