Junior 7s Squad named

By Taromane Martin

THE Solomon Islands Rugby Union Federation has named their final squad for the upcoming Oceania youth Olympic Games qualifiers in Australia.

A 16 man squad was released by the federation on Saturday.

The training squad had their final trials on Saturday at the Town Ground Rugby Stadium. SIRUF said out of the selected 16 players only 12 will travel for the competitions.

“National Under 18 Squad has been named by SIRUF Technical team after final trial matches on Saturday,” a statement from SIRUF said.

“12 will be travelling and four are non-travelling reserves. SIRUF congratulates those who made the final team.

The U-18 rugby squad will continue with their training this afternoon at the Town Ground Rugby Stadium.

“Training continues at 3:30pm, Town Ground and it is important that all selected players bring their personal details to SIRUF office on Monday,” the statement adds.

Meanwhile the final 16 man squad selected from Saturday trail are as follows:
1. Daniel Saomatangi ( St. Johns)
2.calyn Saomatangi (St. Johns)
3.Paul Bekua (Honiara High sch)
4.Dave Kaituu (white river)
5.Steward Iro (Selwyn)
6.Jedrick Legu (Selwyn)
7.Calwyn Puia (Selwyn )
8.Marcellin Raka (Selwyn)
9.Matthew Junior (Bishops Epalle)
10.Ben Puia (White River)
11.Samani Sade (Henderson Hammerheads)
12. Jodie Tepuke (White River)
13.Gabriel Kaituu (Panatina)
14.johnson wareke (St Nicholas)
15.Elvis Made (Ambu)
16.Toby Koraua (Brisbane ).



Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading