15 but not three



A few more details has emerged about Sunday’s reconciliation between caretaker Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare and the MPs who deserted him and the DCC camp earlier this month.

The walkout resulted in a successful no confidence motion against Mr Sogavare on Monday November 6, 2017.

The Opposition group won the vote 27-23. The victory was however short-lived after the Democratic Alliance Party (DAP) staged a walkout over portfolio allocations the next day and joined the government side, boosting its number to 30.

Four days on, there was a new twist.

Initial reports said a reconciliation between all UDP Members and Sogavare took place at lunchtime on Sunday. It later emerged that it was not an all UDP affairs.

Instead, it was the 15 MPs who initially deserted Sogavare and the DCC camp that came to say sorry to a man who was once their leader.

Unconfirmed reports yesterday suggested that only three MPs were requested not to attend the reconciliation.

The reconciliation prompted the DAP to demand an explanation from Mr Sogavare on what it all meant for the DAP-DCC alliance.

“The caretaker Prime Minister simply told DAP members that the reconciliation was a personal thing between him and those who deserted him. As for the election of a new prime minister, the political process will be allowed to take its course,” caretaker prime minister reportedly told DAP members.

As for numbers, the two camps are not discussing it, except for claims and counterclaims of having the number to win next Wednesday’s claim.

Meanwhile outgoing Prime Minister Sogavare farewelled staff members of the Office of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (OPMC) at what was described was a fellowship dinner. He called on officials to render equal support to his successor.

The Sogavare family hosted the dinner at their family residence at Lungga. Loyal MPs including caretaker ministers attended the do.

Sogavare thanked the staff for their services during the last three years, saying he has enjoyed all the support provided to him as Prime Minister of Solomon Islands and as the leader of the Democratic Coalition for Change Government (DCCG).

Discover more from Theislandsun

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading